Fresh Blackberry Pie

After spending 7 weeks in NYC it is unbelievably nice to be home. It is green and lush and there are berries galore. One of my favorite things to do is pick blackberries. I enjoy eating them too but I go into an almost meditative state when I pick them which is kind of cool. Anyways one of the days this past week I went out behind my house and picked a huge container full of them. They are all wild bushes but the berries are still huge and juicy and perfectly ripe.

Screen shot 2013-08-18 at 12.00.31 PM

Since I am not dancing this week I decided to go for a healthy recipe. My dad got me an incredible cookbook for my birthday. It is Rodale’s Basic Natural Foods Cookbook. There are a limited number of copies available and so while my dad was in NYC one weekend he stopped by the Strand bookstore where he was luckily able to pick one up. I only modified this recipe a tiny bit because i figured that when you are dealing with healthier ingredients there is more room for “error”. I got positive feedback from all of my family members especially the day after it was made. Hope you all enjoy it as well.

IMG_2122

Basic Rolled Piecrust

  • 2 2/4 Cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 4 to 6 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup ice water

Measure flour into a medium sized bowl/ an electric mixer. Cut butter into the flour while mixing.  Add oil and continue to mix until the dough looks crumbly. Add honey and then slowly add ice water while mixing until it can be gathered into a ball. Split dough in half and set one aside for later. Place half the dough onto a piece of floured wax paper. Flatten dough with your hands. Sprinkle a little flour over it and place another piece of wax paper over it. Roll it out until it is about 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick. Remove top piece of wax paper. Hold a buttered 9in empty pie plate over the dough and turn over the plate, dough and bottom piece of wax paper allowing the dough to easily be transferred into the plate. Remove wax paper. Line the plate with dough, pressing lightly with your fingers. Cut off any excess dough.

IMG_2124

Black Berry Filling

  • 4 cups fresh blackberries
  • 1/4 cup tapioca
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. In a medium sized bowl mix berries, tapioca, honey, and butter together. Pour into pie plate. Roll out the remaining dough and place over filling. take a fork and press down all of the edges sealing the top dough to the bottom dough. Cut several steam vents in the top crust with a knife. Bake for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 degrees F and bake for another 45 to 60 minutes. Cool to room temperature on a wire rack before serving. ( That allows the tapioca to set up and hold the insides of the pie together. I neglected to wait because I am impatient like that and I just had a messier pie. tasted fine to me!)

2 thoughts on “Fresh Blackberry Pie

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Time | The Bitchin' Baker

Leave a Reply

